Michael Smith Jr.

April 13, 2021

Staying out of it - learning to let go!

I'd much rather see most things take care of themselves. Or have people settle their own balances, rather than me having to deposit my own two cents.

This means getting used to being OK with decisions I wouldn't have made. Or designs I wouldn't have drawn up. Or provisions I wouldn't necessarily have put in place.

But that's an ego stroke. As if my decision, or design, or provision would have been an automatic improvement. I'm sure plenty of things are better around here because I chose to Stay Out of It.

This is probably my biggest learning or something I still need to drastically improve upon.

Here is my letting go framework:

- speaking last
- delegate to the right people
- missing meetings cause I know my delegates are smarter than me anyway
- putting ego aside to let things go the way they go

It's not easy.

Something I am seeking coaching for.

Let it go... (yeah the Frozen song is stuck in my head due to my 2 year old. She is right.)