Dean Clough

July 22, 2024

Portico Darwin: The Fog Is Lifting

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

1 Minute Read

I had a fun piece on SF's Westside planned for today's post, but of course, that will have to wait.   With Papa Joe, in perhaps one of his last lucid moments,  dropping out of the 2024 Presidential election, I perhaps am speaking for many with my reaction.

I  CAN FUCKING BREATHE AGAIN. 

And Joe Biden saved his legacy.

Truth be told, and despite trying desperately to limit my exposure to news, the 1-2 punch of Biden's debate debacle and the attempt on Trump's life and knowing what it meant had me at my wit's end.  And save the cracks, OK?

Because Biden and the Democrats simply handing another term to the vile one by Biden staying in made the anxiety inherent to another term by the vile one even worse.  I've had conversations with several friends (strangers, too, for that matter) over the same period, so I know I am not the only with that same dread. 

Overall, it was the sense that the Democrats were enabling someone clearly unfit for the job of President in the same way Republicans still are.

But that's over now.  So let's enjoy the fresh air and the feeling of hope.  The Kamala Harris/Barrack Obama and Kamala Harris/Liz Cheney fever dreams (let alone the Mark Cuban/Gretchen Whitmer ones) make for fun party games, but the reality is that VP Harris will almost certainly head the ticket. 

I am guessing, maybe even hoping, that it will be Josh Shapiro, Governor of Pennsylvania, as her running mate.

But I don't care, at least for this one moment, because a weight feels like it's been partially removed.

And now we must - as a nation that stands for honesty, honor, the rule of law, and dignity - come together, Republicans and Democrats alike, and knock the remaining dead weight of the poisonous Trump off our collective shoulders.

Have a great week and maybe, just maybe, we can make America America again.
FogLift.jpg


FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

Feedback on Maybe It Was Destiny is always appreciated, so grazie to the thousands that have written in already.

Thank you for reading this newsletter.  

KLUF

Here is Zero 7 and the Diamond Certified and gorgeous When It Falls
wif.jpeg

If nothing else, please listen to the stunning "Morning Song," as it does feel that way in America today.

About Dean Clough