Saif Ali Shaik

January 26, 2022

Two most reasonable ROI ideologies for Self Improvement

This month's completion makes me three years into my career.

Let me be honest, and it wasn't a roller-coaster ride. It is was like most purposeful companies building some genuine software. It was my kind of routine

#1 - The career doesn't have to happen simply on its own

So I joined Freshworks in Jan 2019. I got a fantastic manager who had a friendly conversation over coffee hiring me. 

Early days, I took on some tasks. Got it done. What now?

My manager and I took a cup of tea holding together and walked around the building. He was telling me what 1:1 career conversations are. Some people use 1:1 to discuss pay, work, and other people on the team. Well, that was my first 1:1; I had none of those to talk to him. But I have 60 mins to spend.

Manager: "Do you know SWOT Analysis?"

Me: "No."

Manager: "Strengths, Weakness, Opportunities, and Threats"

Well, I questioned myself all SWOT things about myself. Until today, I use it as a reference to visit them. Simple and most impactful.

Over the next few months, I kept myself under observation at work to 

  1. Act on my Strengths to convert them into value for my team.
  2. Pick up chores or small yet helpful tasks around the Weak areas of my expertise.
  3. I evaluated what business Freshworks is in and how I can create opportunities by translating the goal of value through my manager.
  4. "What would I become with X skill?" gave me enough motivation to tackle Threats.

Do it if you haven't done it already. But remember there are always things you must do, can do, and want to do. Invest efforts wisely.



#2 - Trading "Bread & Butter" with "Self"

Going to college with roommates who are also lovely friends is a good memory. The salary all Saif needs per month for his needs is ₹10,000. Some employer after college comes in and tells Saif that they will pay ₹15,000.

While the cost of "Bread & Butter" that Saif needed was just ₹10,000.

What do with the remaining ₹5,000?

Here is an invisible problem. Before one identifies it, one will:
  1. Race for taking ₹20,000 -> ₹2,00,000
  2. Spend entire time using the remaining ₹5,000 for purchasing an item.
  3. Maybe invest in somewhere. 

What I just described is a very simplified example. In reality, 

  • the "musts," "needs," and "wants."  
  • while the market fixes salary, not the talent. 
  • Income is not salary.

For those reasons, one's "Bread & Butter" differs from person to person.

I learned to use the remaining ₹10,000 to enjoy the work that I do day-to-day. 

  • Saif buys a 'coding font' in his code editor that wants him to love coding more and more.
  • Saif purchases a book or course.  
  • Maybe even simply a good pillow to sleep peacefully.

Whatever the reasons are, I found investing in Self in any way has always proved to get me more returns in terms of worry-free life, not just the financial part of it.

These two are the most impactful ideologies that I acquired three years into my career. 



About Saif Ali Shaik

Hey, I'm Saif. Writing is one of my favorite habits. I journal about my learnings for the world to read. Some appreciate it if that adds value. This page you are seeing is my only social media. Welcome to my World of shower thoughts!