Sam Radford

June 21, 2021

Book Notes: “The Girl with the Louding Voice”

If you have access to Between the Covers (on BBC Two and iPlayer here in the UK), it’s well worth a watch if you’re a fellow book-lover. I mentioned the TV show a month or so ago, and it continues to cause me to add new books to my book pile.

One of those recent additions was The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Daré.

After hearing Adjoa Andoh (the audiobook narrator) read a portion of the book when a guest on Behind the Covers, I decided to go for both the book and the audiobook version. I’m so glad I did.

The story itself and the performance of it are delightful. Probably my favourite fictional read of 2021 so far.

Set in Nigeria, the book follows the journey of Adunni, a fourteen year old girl. She has hopes and dreams of an education but, instead, her father sells her to an older man to get her bride-price. The marriage is horrible, leading her to escape to Lagos. Still dependent on others, she is sold again – this time as a housemaid to a successful businesswoman. Here, again, things do not go well. But she never gives up on her dream. 

It’s a powerful story of courage against all odds; of resilience; of never giving up. It’s a moving and vexing portrayal of what life can be like for all too many girls in Nigeria. 

Beautifully told and deeply evocative, I can’t recommend this story enough.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.